Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Bruree Notes 14/2/2010

Ann Potter presenting the Hall of Fame award to Neilus Doody

Fr. Desmond McAuliffe presenting the Footballer of the Year award
to Tommy O’Brien

Johnny Wall, Treasurer, Noel O’Halloran, Chairman, and Laura
O’Sullivan, Secretary, Bruree GAA, making a presentation on behalf of
the club to outgoing club secretary Elaine Horgan

Johnny Wall presenting the Hurler of the Year award to Paul

Maura McMahon presenting the Sports Personality of the Year award
to Joan Quirke

Banogue Musical
The Banogue production of Mamma Mia continues this weekend on Friday,
Saturday and Sunday, February 19th, 20th and 21st. This show, which
features the songs of ABBA, promises to be another great production from
a very experienced group.

Social: The Bruree GAA Annual Social was held at Bulgaden Castle
recently. After a lovely meal club chairman, Noel O’Halloran thanked all
those who had helped the club in any way during 2009. He also looked
forward to a successful year for the club at all levels. Fr. Desmond
McAuliffe also wished the club every success for 2010. The club’s annual
awards were then presented. The Hurler of the Year for 2009, Paul
Fitzgerald, has contributed to Bruree successes on the field of play
from his days at underage level to the present day. Always a strong
physical presence on the field of play, his commitment and take no
prisoners approach is the hallmark of his style of play. He was a
commanding figure on the Bruree team which won the Munster Junior B
title back in March and his defending and clearances from the centre
back position played a major part in Bruree’s success. Paul was
presented with his award by Johnny Wall.
The Footballer of the Year 2009, Tommy O’Brien, is a young man who will
always be remembered for the part he played in Bruree’s 2006 victory but
he can also hold his own with the best exponents of gaelic football. He
was prominent on the Bruree team which won the county Under 21 12-a-side
football title for 2009. Noted for his speed and agility, he can take
his own scores as well as setting up team mates for scores. Tommy
received his award from Fr. Desmond McAuliffe.
This year’s Hall of Fame award winner is Neilus Doody, who was always
known as a great club and parish man. He started playing in 1958 and was
a member of the Bruree team which won the inaugural Under 14 South
championship in that year. He continued to play at minor and Under 21
level, winning a South Under 21 medal. He played on the Bruree team
which won the County Junior title in 1966. Usually playing at wing or
corner back he was noted as a diligent, sticky player. Neilus accepted
his award from Ann Potter.
The final award, Sports Personality of the Year for 2009 went to Joan
Quirke who is a member of a family which is synonymous with GAA in
Bruree. Though living a very busy life, our award winner finds time to
play a major part in Bruree Juvenile GAA club as well as being available
to help with the senior club. A mentor with under age teams and one of
those who puts a large amount of work into making the club’s annual
coaching week a success, our Personality is rarely absent from the
sideline at any Bruree game. Joan’s received was presented with the
Donncha O hArgain Perpetual Cup by Maura McMahon.
Finally, a presentation was made by Noel O’Halloran to the club’s
outgoing secretary, Elaine Horgan who has retied after four years in the
position, four years during which Bruree were very successful, winning a
county senior hurling title and a Munster Junior hurling title, among
others. She worked well with players and committee and found time to
become involved at county level.
The night finished with dancing to Terminal 11.
Membership: The annual membership subscription is now due and should be
paid to Kit O’Halloran immediately. The membership fee for 2010 is €20
for adults. Any player will not be allowed participate in training or
play in games until such time as they have paid their membership fee.
Mackey Draw: The Limerick GAA Development Draw will once again be a
major fundraiser for Bruree GAA during 2010. This year’s draw features
all cash prizes for the ten draws with a top prize in each draw of
€18,000 and prizes of €5,000, €2,000 and €1,500 as well as numerous
lesser prizes. The subscription is €10 per draw or €100 for the year.
You can join the draw with any of the clubs promoters.

News from Bruree is now available online at

45 Drive
Winners of the 45 Drive last week with nine games were Mary Margaret
Noonan and Nora May Donworth. Runners up with eight games were Noreen
Hayes and Josephine Lynch. Raffle prizes went to Sadie Moloney, Mary
Noonan, Joe Carey and Tom Hanley. The 45 Drive continues in the
Community Centre every Tuesday night, starting at 8.30 pm sharp.

The collections for our parish clerks will take place in Rockhill on
this Saturday, February 13th and in Bruree on this Sunday, February
14th. Your usual generosity would be greatly appreciated.

Bruree Juvenile GAA
Indoor Hurling 2010: This year’s indoor hurling competition gets under
way in the Community Centre this February. Dates and times are as
Under 12: Thursday 18th February, Friday 19th February, Thursday 25th
February, Friday 26th February, Thursday 4th March from 7.00 to 8.30 pm
Under 8 and 10: Monday 22nd February, Monday 1st March, Monday 8th March
from 7.00 to 8.30 pm
The semi finals for Under 12, the shield final for Under 8 and Under 10
and the Cup final for Under 12 will take place on Thursday March 11th
from 7.00 to 9.00 pm.
Once again, this year’s main sponsor is Ray Moloney Butcher, Bruree. All
players are asked to only attend on the nights they are playing. The
finals are on Thursday, 11th March, and all players must attend on this
night as there will be presentations. Team lists have been put on the
notice board at the school and managers over each team will receive a
full list.

Community Games
The Annual General Meeting of Bruree Rockhill Community Games
Association will take place on Wednesday, February 24th in the school
hall at 8.30 pm. Everyone is welcome.
Upcoming events include the talent show, art competition, Under 12 chess
and girls Under 12 soccer.

We extend our sincere sympathy to the family, relatives and friends of
Jim O'Connell, Ballyagran, Alice McGregor,Bruree, and Templemore and
Mary Hannon, Ballytigue, who died recently.

Lucky dip winners in the Bruree GAA/Rockhill Rovers lotto draw over the
past two weeks were €50 Anne Barrett, Charleville, Mike McGrath €25
Patricia Horgan, Tom Riordan, Granagh, Catherine Hayes c/o Helen Potter,
Eilish Ryan, Buttevant €20 Mike Hogan, Veronica McDonagh, Bruff, Breda
Allen, c/o Margaret Thompson, Mary Carey, Dan Power, J. Noonan.

No comments: