Thursday, December 8, 2011

Bruree Notes 4/12/2011

Emma Hogan, Julianne Barrington, Grace Donworth and Emma Howard

Ashling Sexton, Aaron McCarthy, Fionn O’Brien, Grace O’Brien, Sophie McDonogh, Lorna Murphy, Aaron Doherty, Colin McCarthy, Kevin Hayden and Robyn Finn

Bruree GAA

A.G.M. The Annual General Meeting of Bruree GAA will be held on Friday, December 16th, in Bruree School, starting at 8.00 pm sharp. Notice for the meeting has gone to all members and all nominations and motions must be with Brendan Hogan by Thursday, November 24th.
Players Development Fund: The following were the winners in the first draw: €500 Brian Kelleher, Buttevant seller Mike Potter €200 Anne Murray Charleville seller John Harrold €100 Pat O’Brien Stylepark seller J.C. and T. O’Brien €100 Raymond lane, Bruree seller D. and M. Lane €100 Betty Harrold Ballyagran seller John Harrold.

45 Drive

Winners of last week’s 45 Drive were Mary Noonan and Ann Frawley with ten games. Runners up were John Sheehan and Eddie Ryan with eight games. Raffle prizes went to John Moloney, Martin Carroll (x2) and Anne Potter. The 45 Drive continues in the Community Centre every Tuesday night, starting at 8.30 pm sharp.

Juvenile GAA

Bruree juvenile GAA club held their AGM recently in the school hall and we were delighted with the very large attendance. The following officers were returned for 2012;
Chairman Mike Mullane, Vice Chairman Ger Sexton, Secretary Jimmy Feane, Treasurer Joan Quirke, Assistant Secretary Jim O Connell, Assistant to Registrar Declan Sexton.
The meeting agreed to put forward the name of Joan Quirke for consideration by the Senior club for the position of Club Children’s Officer. Frank Finn and Frank Barrington were nominated to represent the Juvenile GAA club on the Field Development Committee. Team Managers and mentors for 2012 were also selected at the meeting. 
Our Under 14 footballers brought silverware back to the parish by winning the County Final of the 11 a side competition in a fiercely contested  game against Granagh/Ballingarry. The team was captained by Cian McCarthy who led by example throughout and he was ably supported by Terence Buckley who was a tower of strength at mid field.
Aaron Fitzgerald was a constant threat in the full forward line. Shane Feane and Dara O’Driscoll were always dependable in the half back positions and Sean Quirke and Brian Sexton put in huge efforts in the full back line. Eoin O’Connell showed once again why he is one of the best young goalkeepers around in hurling and football with a very solid display. Seamus Lyons scored a real gem of a goal at a vital stage in the game. Tommy Cronnolly grew in confidence as the game progressed and won vital possession when we were under most pressure in the last quarter of the game.
Sean McCarthy and Gearoid McCarthy worked tirelessly throughout. While we had our fair share of luck with the ball hitting the crossbar on a few occasions nobody can deny that this bunch of lads richly deserved their success after coming through the entire competition undefeated. Congratulations and well done to all concerned and thanks to Raymond Moloney for once again sponsoring the tournament. The winners were as follows:
Under 6 1st Niall Tobin, Kevin Hayden, Colin Lee McCarthy, Clodagh Williams, Sophie McDonogh, Robyn Finn, Greg O’Dwyer and Aaron Doherty, 2nd Colin Bresnihan, Shannon Carey, Ashling Sexton, Grainne O’Brien, Martha Ryan, Eimear Hogan, Mikey Carey Collins and Fionn O’Brien.
Under 8 1st Ellen Williams, Darragh McDonogh, Jack O’Shea, Katie Sexton and Fionnan O’driscoll 2nd Elaine Frowley, Brian Curtin, Conor Frawley, Kate Frawley and Darragh Sexton 3rd Rory O’Gorman, Ellen Williams, Shane Hogan, Ryan Murphy, Niamh O’Brien 4th Ian Finn, Lisa Galvin Buckley, Luke Kelly, Paddy Lynch, 5th Aaron McCarthy, Ellanna O’dwyer, Joshua Adams Verling, Katie Buckley and Molly Skerritt 6th Robert Lynch, Laura Frawley, Eoghan Sheedy and Emily Thompson
Under 10 1st Thomas Mikolajcik, Sam Williams, David Sexton, Frankie Barrington and Luke Sexton 2nd Shannon McCarthy, Lorna Murphy, Fergus Carey, Sam Cronnolly, John Sheehan 3rd Fionnbarr Fitzpatrick, Peter Buckley, William Sexton, Sean Daly, Julia Weisneiwska, Sebastian Fitzpatrick, 4th Sean Frawley, Harry Mullane, Matthew Howard, Gabrielle Nyst, Emma Kate Keriens, Under 12 1st Megan O’Grady, Katie Quirke, Cian O’Grady, Sean Quirke, 2nd Kate O’Donnell, Julianne Barrington, Cathal Barrington, Emma Hogan, 3rd Gearoid McCarthy, Cian O’Grady, Ciara McCarthy, Kayleigh Thompson, 4th Jimmy Leslie Madigan, Eoghan O’Driscoll, Emma Howard, Rachel Williams, 5th Jonathan Fitzpatrick, Brian McCarthy, Grace Donworth and Lauren Corrigan.
The club held its presentation night on Sunday night at Bulgaden Castle. There was a great attendance with everyone enjoying the proceedings. The clubs awards 2011, sponsored by Beech Lodge Nursing Home, were presented on the night. The recipients were Under 8 Player of the Year Rory O’Gorman, Most Improved Player Paddy Lynch Under 10 Player of the Year Sam Cronnolly, Most Improved Player Peter Buckley Under 12 Player of the Year Owen Carey, Most Improved Player David O’Connell, Female Player of the Year Emma Hogan Under 14 Player of the Year Aaron Fitzgerald, Most Improved Player Cian McCarthy Under 16 Player of the Year Terence Buckley, Most Improved Player Darren Kelly,. Presentations were also made to the following girls in recognition of their contribution to the club Grace Donworth, Emma Howard and Ciara Mullane. The awards were presented by Kerrie Brosnan who won an All Ireland Minor Camogie with Limerick during the year.

School Draw

The following were the prize winners in the Week 4 Silver Circle Draw 1st Prize: Nancy O'Brien, Kilfenora Seller: Niamh O'Brien 2nd Prize: Brendan O'Brien, Kilfinane 3rd Prize: Eamon Hayden 4th Prize: Caitlin Kirwan 5th Prize: John O'Brien.


Lucky dip winners in last week’s Bruree GAA/Rockhill Rovers lotto draw were €50 Bridie O’Mahony €25 Moloney’s Bar, Kathryn and Laura Leslie €20 Laura O’Sullivan, Edward Potter, Berlin, Danny Deady.


We extend our sincere sympathy to the family, relatives and friends of John Cotter, Ballytigue, Mary O’Brien, Fort Middle, and Pat Quill, Ballyagran, who died recently.

No comments: