Thursday, March 1, 2012

BRUREE NOTES 26/2/2012

 Ladies Football Club presentation and awards night at the Central Bar

Presentation and Awards Night: Bruree GAA held its annual presentation and awards night on Saturday night at the Central Bar, Bruree. Chairman, Gerard Mullane, welcomed everyone and Fr. Desmond McAuliffe congratulated all those receiving medals and awards. Fr. McAuliffe then presented commemorative plaques to the players and mentors of the Bruree team who won the county minor hurling title twenty five years ago in 1987. Their medals were then presented to the Bruree Junior hurlers who won the Hogan Cup in 2011. The club’s annual awards were then presented. The Hurler of the Year award was presented by Elaine Horgan to Kieran O’Rourke a player who showed great skill in his underage days and has developed that skill over the years. He is settling in to Bruree’s senior set up as a tenacious defender capable of winning and clearing ball in the tightest encounters. He ahs the ability to turn defence into attack with lightening runs forward and is well able to take his own scores. His hallmarks are his speed and his agility and his ability to remain calm under pressure. Gerard Mullane presented the Footballer of the Year award to Andrew Sexton who is noted for his strength and fire in the physical game of football. A quiet man who lets his football do the talking, he can always be relied upon to give a solid performance. Physically very strong and fearless, he has the ability to inspire his team mates with his dedication and work rate. Anne Potter, Bruree GAA Life President, presented the Hall of Fame award to John (Jack) Horgan who was noted as a rangy and skilful defender and midfielder who could always be relied upon in a tight game. He was a member of the Bruree team which won the inaugural Under 14 South hurling championship in 1958. He was also part of the Bruree panel which won 1966 county final and won many south titles and tournament games with the club. He went on to play Senior hurling with the club. Maura McMahon presented the Donncha O hArgain Cup for the Sports Personality of the Year to Jimmy Feane, an articulate administrator with an ability to plan and co-ordinate. He became involved in the Juvenile Club some years ago and has become more involved over time. The running of the Juvenile Club and its vision are exemplary and he has played a major part in the club’s progress over the past few years. A presentation was made by Eamon Rea to  Noel O’Halloran who retired as club chairman during 2011. He has been involved in the club in many capacities over a long number of years. His first year as chairman was 2006 and he was fortunate enough to lead the club to a county senior title. He is still involved with Bruree GAA and we look forward to his continued involvement for many years to come. Finally the club had a presentation for Conor Dolan who was the senior manager for the past two years. He helped the team progress on the field of play and was a popular manager. Bruree GAA would like to thank everyone for their help in organising and running the night. Thanks to the Central Bar for providing the venue, food and music for the night.
The club would like to congratulate Sinéad Costello and Sean Kelly who will receive South Limerick All-Star Awards on this Saturday night.


Bruree Ladies Football Club presented their county medals to the team members who won the 2011 Junior County title.


The following are the dates for talent competitions:
Under 14 Modern Dance, Group Music, Solo Music, and Drama /Comedy Sketch will take place in Caherconlish on this Saturday, March 3rd, at 7.30 pm.
Under 14 Group Irish Dance and Solo Irish Dance will take place in Askeaton on Friday, March 23rd, at 7.00 pm.
Under 10 Group Singing, Solo Music, Group Irish Dance, Solo Irish Dance and Solo Modern Dance, will take place in Caherconlish on Sunday, April 1st, at 5.00 pm.
There is a nominal admission charge for non competitors and tea/coffee and light snacks will be available on the night.
These competitions not only showcase the abundance of talent in our area but also provide a fantastic night’s entertainment and our competitors could do with all our support on the night. The committee would like to take this opportunity to thank all those involved in getting the children prepared for the competitions. Best of luck to all our competitors.


Training for the following teams will continue at these times until further notice.
Under 12 - Saturday in the field from 10.00 – 11.30am.
Under 14 - Sunday from 10.00 -11.00am.


Winners of last week’s 45 Drive were Eugene Grant and Joe Carey with nine games. Runners up were Brendan O’Kelly and Ann Frawley and Sean Blake and Katherine O’Regan with eight games. Raffle prizes went to Patsy Healy, Fintan Stone, Gerard O’Sullivan and Noreen Hayes. The 45 Drive continues in the Community Centre every Tuesday night, starting at 8.30 pm sharp.


Lucky dip winners in last weeks Bruree GAA/Rockhill Rovers lotto draw were €50 Elizabeth Horgan €25 Eamon and Molly Sexton, The Outsiders c/o Moloneys Bar, €20 Maurice Conway, The Outsiders c/o Moloneys Bar, M. Pearson, Castletown.

No comments: