Tuesday, July 13, 2010

BRUREE NOTES 11/7/2010


Bruree Rockhill Community Childcare Limited intends to open a Pre-School Facility in the heart of Bruree Village from September 2010. We will be taking part in the ECCE (Free Preschool Year) scheme and will also be offering places under the Community Childcare Subvention Scheme (CCSS). For further details please contact 087 1649755.


We are reminded that the annual flower show in Kilmallock takes place on July 28/29th in the Peoples Hall. Entries close on July 24th and entries will be taken locally by Margaret Johnson (063)90575.


Our Under 21 hurlers qualified for the county final compliments of great win over Monaleen. The final score was Bruree 1-16 Monaleen 3-9 with Bruree’s scores coming from Donal Deady 1-4, Michael O’Donnell 0-3, Jimmy O’Dea 0-3, Tommy O’Brien 0-3, Brian O’Rourke 0-2 and Darragh O’Connor 0-1. Best for Bruree on the night were Jimmy O’Dea, Brian O’Rourke and Michael O’Donnell. The county final is provisionally fixed for Tuesday night next.

Bruree was the venue for the Junior A hurling clash of Bruree and St. Patricks. The visitors dominated the first half but, in spite of this, Bruree trailed by just three points at the break. The half time score was 1-4 to 1-7 with Declan Sexton scoring 1-1 and Michael O’Donnell (2) and Patrick Deady completing Bruree’s tally. Bruree played with more heart in the second half but could not get the vital scores. They were unlucky not to have at least two goals with the ball just trickling wide. Michael O’Donnell (2), John Deady, Mike Shinney and Declan Sexton added points for Bruree to leave the final score Bruree 1-9 St. Patrick’s 2-10.

Bruree’s senior hurlers notched up a couple of good victories over the past week or so. Following an impressive 4-17 to 0-11 victory over Granagh/Ballingarry, Bruree went on toscore 1 1-16 to 1-8 win over Ballybrown at Bruree.


Senior Hurling Championship

Friday July 16th v Murroe/Boher at Bruff

All County Senior Hurling League

Saturday July 17th Bruree v Croom at Bruree at 7.30 pm

All County Junior Hurling League

Sunday July 18th Bruree v Garryspillane at Bruree at 12.00 noon

County Under 21 Football

Tuesday September 7th Bruree v Castletown/Ballyagran at Ballyagran at 6.45 pm

Tuesday September 14th Bruree v Monagea at Bruree at 6.45 pm

Tuesday September 21st Bruree v Galtee Gaels at Bruree at 6.30 pm

Saturday October 9th Bruree v Banogue at Banogue at 2.00 pm

South Junior A Football Championship

Thursday July 15th Bruree v Castletown/Ballyagran at Bruree

Thursday July 29th Bruree v Ballylanders at Ballylanders

South Junior A Hurling Championship

Sunday July 25th Bruree v Staker Wallace at Staker Wallace

Friday July 30th Bruree v Effin at Bruree


Winners of the 45 Drive last week with ten games were Tommy Riordan and Tom Hanley. Runners up with nine games were Mary Margaret Noonan and Mary O’Leary, Ann Frawley and Joe Carey and Mary Noonan and Evelyn Byrnes. Raffle prizes were won by Mary Margaret Noonan, Tommie Riordan (x2) and Ann Frawley. The 45 Drive continues in the Community Centre every Tuesday night, starting at 8.30 pm sharp.


News from Bruree is now available online at www.brureenews.blogspot.com.


Bruree could be in with a chance of winning €5,000 worth of prizes this year as Ballyhoura Development launches their search for the best community in East Limerick and North East Cork. The competition is being run by Ballyhoura Development as part of their 21 year celebrations. For more details you can contact your local Ballyhoura Development office or call 063 91300.


We extend our sincere sympathy to thew family, relatives and friends of Kathleen Dinan, Charleville, William Leddin, Hospital, and PJ Murray, Charleville, who died recently.


Thanks to everybody who contributed to Milford Hospice through the recent Sunflower Collection. An amount of €248.11 was collected. The organiser would like to thank the shops who displayed the boxes.


Lucky dip winners in last week’s Bruree GAA/Rockhill Rovers lotto draw were €50 Breda and pat Curtin €25 Maurice O’Connor, Derawlin, Bridget and Paul Lyons €20 Maureen Flanagan, c/o Mary O’Gorman, Geraldine Cole, Nora Power.


There was a great turnout at Charleville Golf Club for Kevin Cagney’s Captain’s Prize. After a excellent day’s golf the following were the winners: 1st Kieran Allen 2nd Mike Sexton 3rd Mike Potter 4th Ann Weekes Gross Brendan Horan Past captain Margaret Deady Front Nine Alice South Back Nine Liam Hogan Best Beginner Joe Carey Best Visitor Maisie Clifford Longest Drive ladies Catherine Hynes Longest Drive Gents Donal Deady Nearest To Pin Gary Tierney. Congratulations to Kevin and Kay on a great day and thanks to everyone who contributed to making the day a success.

The Society’s away outing is on the weekend of August 7/8th to Bunclody Golf Club in Co. Wexford.

No comments: