Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Bruree Notes 7/11/2010


County Final: Bruree’s footballers travelled to Caherconlish on Sunday
afternoon to play Kilteely/Dromkeen in the County Junior A final. A
great first half performance was enough to see Bruree through to victory
but they had to work hard all through as Kilteely/Dromkeen  put up a
brave challenge and might have taken the game to a replay. This was a
team performance from Bruree with the panel working well to support one
another. Bruree began with the aid of a stiff breeze and quickly made
full use of the advantage, dominating much of the half hour. Seven
minutes into the game Bruree had built up a five point lead. A goal, a
great solo effort from James V. O’Brien, settled Bruree. This was
sandwiched between points from the same player and from an Eamon Sexton
free. Midway through the half, Kilteely/Dromkeen had their only score of
the half, a pointed free. Nineteen minutes into the half, a ball from
James V. O’Brien found Paddy Kelly who finished well to provide Bruree’s
second goal. Michael lane followed up almost immediately with a point
from play to leave the score Bruree 2-4 Kilteely/Dromkeen 0-1 which
turned out to be the half time score. Bruree’s defence stood firm
against a late Kilteely/Dromkeen rally and, with five minutes of the
half to go, Kilteely/Dromkeen had a goal chance to narrow the gap but
Andrew Sexton intervened to avert the danger.
The sides turned around with Kilteely/Dromkeen this time having the
support of a stiffening breeze. They made full use of it and piled the
pressure on Bruree for much of the half. However, scoring was low with
Kilteely/Dromkeen adding just four points in twenty two minutes while
Bruree had just one, from a James C. O’Brien free after ten minutes.when
Jimmy O’Dea added another point on twenty three minutes and James V.
O’Brien had another four minutes later, it looked as if the game was
over. But Kilteely/Dromkeen had other ideas,  notching up a goal and two
points in the closing minutes. This left just a goal between the sides
and Bruree’s supporters let out a sigh of relief when the final whistle
went. This left the final score Bruree 2-7 Kilteely/Dromkeen 1-7. Bruree
captain, Anthony O’Shea accepted the cup from Sean McAuliffe, County
Board. John O’Brien was adjudged man of the match and received the
trophy from Sheila Flanagan.
The Bruree team was Gerard O’Dea, Andrew Sexton, Anthony O’Shea, Chris
Sexton, Kieran  O’Rourke, Dessie Lenihan, Vincent Stanton, Jimmy O’Dea,
John O’Brien, Tommy O’Brien, James V. O’Brien, Gerard O’Brien, Paddy
Kelly, Michael Lane, Eamon Sexton, James C. O’Brien, Brian O’Rourke,
Shane Mullane, Sean Kelly, Stephen O’Halloran, Donal Deady, Niall
Broderick, Patrick Deady, David Broderick, Michael Cotter, David Deady,
John Deady, Charlie O’Shea, Brendan Hogan. The selectors are Mike
McCarthy, Charlie O’Shea and Brendan Hogan and the trainer was Paul
At half time, Bruree National School took on Kilteely/Dromkeen in a
Players Development Fund: Bruree GAA is holding its Player Development
Fund annual draw again this year. The 2009 draw has €1,000 in cash as a
first prize in each of four weekly draws. There will also be one prize
of €200 and three of €100 for each draw. And the good news is that the
subscription is still the same - just €20 for the four draws. The first
draw will be held on Monday, November 29th, with the other draws on
subsequent Monday nights. Contact any member of Bruree GAA to join the
AGM: The Annual General Meeting of Bruree GAA will be held on Saturday,
November 20th in the Community Centre at 8.30 pm. All
nominations/motions should be forwarded to the secretary by October
31st, 2010.

Juvenile GAA

Under 13: On Saturday last our Under 13 hurlers to Ballyagran to take on
Askeaton/Ballysteen in the county final and, thankfully, this time the
news was good.
Bruree started well and had two early points from Shane Feane. We had a
setback when Askeaton/Ballysteen got a goal against the run of play.
However, this was a temporary setback and a goal from Aaron Fitzgerald
and points from Cian McCarthy, Seamus Lyons, Terence Galvin-Buckley,
Sean Quirke and another from Shane Feane left the half time score Bruree
1-7 Askeaton/Ballysteen 1-1.
In the second half, Bruree continued to be on top in most areas of the
field and even though we failed to score any more points, we did add on
four more goals. These came from Gearoid McCarthy, Cian McCarthy and two
more from Aaron Fitzgerald. We must also praise our backs and goalie. If
it was not for their determined and no nonsense play, the final score
would have been much closer. The final score was Bruree 5-7
Askeaton/Ballysteen 1-4.
Also much credit must go to the mentors of the team - Paul Fitzgerald,
Jimmy Feane, Conor Howard and Joan Quirke - for their work with this
team over the year. Indeed this also goes for all the mentors of the
different teams for their work over the year.
The Bruree team was Eoin O’Connell, Gearoid McCarthy, Thomas O’Dwyer,
Edward Moore, Daire O’Driscoll, Terence Galvin-Buckley, Tommy Cronnolly,
Shane Feane, Cian McCarthy, Seamus Lyons, Sean Quirke, Eoin Carey, Aaron
Fitzgerald, Sean McCarthy, Brian Sexton, Jack Murphy, Shane Hannon,
Ciaran Sexton.
Presentation Social: Bruree Juvenile GAA will hold it’s Presentation
Social at Club D’Ville at the Charleville Park Hotel on Sunday November
28th from 5.30  to 8.30 pm. Tickets at €10 each are available from
Gerard Sexton (086-2103751), Joan Quirke (087-7671573) or from Karen
Rea. Tickets are also available at the Community Centre during the
Indoor Hurling tournament.
Jerseys: Any parent who would like to purchase a Bruree jersey/togs for
their child should contact Pat Boyce at 063-81236 immediately.
Availability will be dependent on sufficient demand.

45 Drive

Winners of the 45 Drive last week with thirteen games were Noreen Hayes
and Josephine Lynch. Runners up with ten games were Tom O’Rourke and
John Moloney. The table prize was won by Sean Blake and Katherine
O’Regan. Raffle prizes were won by Eddie Ryan, Tom Hanley, Mary Margaret
Noonan and Tom Collins. The 45 Drive continues in the Community Centre
every Tuesday night, starting at 8.30 pm sharp.


Lucky dip winners in last week’s Bruree GAA/Rockhill Rovers lotto draw
were €50 rosaleen O’Donnell, c/o Mooneys €25 Paddy Flaherty, Christy
Sheerin €20 Donal and Patrick Deady, Pakie Doherty, Effin, Laura Leslie.

No comments: