Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Bruree Notes 12/12/2010


Munster Final: Bruree’s Junior footballers travelled to Mallow on Sunday to play their Munster final against St. Mary’s of Caherciveen. The day was ideal for football and Bruree had the honour of wearing the Limerick jersey against the opposition who wore the Kerry counterpart. Bruree were going into this game as underdogs and the opening few minutes proved that Bruree were up against it. Six minutes into the game Bruree trailed by 2-2 to 0-1 with Paddy Kelly providing Bruree’s score from a free. The rest of the half continued in similar vein with Bruree managing another pointed free from Gerard O’Brien to St. Mary’s four more points. This left Bruree trailing by 2-6 to 0-2 at the break. Bruree enjoyed a good ten minute spell after the resumption but could only manage two points, one each from Gerard O’Brien and John O’Brien. St. Mary’s upped the pace and from there on the only fact in doubt was the final score. This turned out to be a 2-12 victory for St. Mary’s and was a deserved victory. Bruree put up a sporting display but were a bit out of their depth. The scoreline will disappoint Bruree as they are better than it might suggest. It was a great honour for Bruree to take the county title and to earn a place in the Munster final and all involved are to be congratulated. The Bruree team was Gerard O’Dea, Andrew Sexton, Anthony O’Shea (Captain), Chris Sexton, Kieran O’Rourke, Dessie Lenihan, Vincent Stanton, Jimmy O’Dea, John O’Brien, Tommy O’Brien, James V. O’Brien, Gerard O’Brien, Paddy Kelly, James C. O’Brien, Brian O’Rourke, Eamon Sexton, Shane Mullane, Sean Kelly, Stephen O’Halloran, Donal Deady, Niall Broderick, Patrick Deady, David Broderick. The selectors are Mike McCarthy, Charlie O’Shea and Brendan Hogan and the trainer was Paul Sexton.
Mackey Draw: Congratulations to Stephen and Brian Sexton who won €2,000 in the December Mackey Stand draw. They joined with Bruree GAA.
Membership: Members are reminded that their annual subscription is now due and should be paid to Kit O’Halloran or Johnny Wall immediately. It is vital that all members have paid their subscriptions in full at the earliest possible date.
Winners: The following were the winners in the first of the 2010 Players Development Fund draw: €1,000 Denis Cuddihy c/o John O’Brien €200 Micheal Lyons, Bruree €100 Eileen McMahon, Bruree €100 Gerard O’Dea, Bruree €100 John Carroll, Charleville.
The following were the winners in the second of the 2010 Players Development Fund draw: €1,000 Tim O’Shea, Garryfine €200 Richard Verling, c/o Mike Mullane €100 Ted O’Donoghue, c/o Pat Stanton €100 Michael O’Brien, Bruree €100 Kathleen Harrold, Bruree.

St. Patrick’s National School

The following were the winners in Week 5 of the school’s Silver Circle draw: 1st Aine Hayden Sellers prize Aine Hayden 2nd Kevin Hayden, 3rd Thomas Frawley, 4th Pat O’Regan, 5th Diarmuid McSweeney. Seller’s Prizes: Abigail Adams, Brian Curtin, Holly O’Dwyer, Tom Curtin, Peter and Katie Buckley, Sean and Katie Quirke, John Irwin, Jamie Sherin, Sean Bresnihan, Darragh Sexton.

Juvenile GAA

The Bruree Under 14 team who received the League medals

AGM: The AGM of Bruree Juvenile GAA Club will take place on Tuesday, December 14th, in Bruree National School at 8.30 pm. All members are asked to make the effort to attend and it would be especially appreciated if parents would attend.
Presentation Social: A very large crowd attended the Bruree Juvenile GAA Presentation night at the Charleville Park Hotel on Sunday evening last. The evening started with the presentation of their medals to the Under 13 team which won the county title and the Under 14 team which won the league title. Ray Moloney then presented the trophies and medals for the indoor hurling tournament. Then came the individual awards sponsored by Sean Quirke.  At Under 8 the Player of the Year was Sam Williams and the Most Improved Player was Laura Frawley. The Under 10 Player of the Year was Cathal Barrington while Kayleigh Thompson was the Most Improved Player. At Under 12 Sean Quirke was the Player of the Year while Daire O’Driscoll was the Most Improved Player. Ciara Daly was given the award for the Contribution to the Juvenile Club. The Player of the Year at Under 14 was Terence Galvin Buckley and William Howard was the Most Improved Player. The Under 16 Player of the Year was Kieran O’Dea while Aaron Tierney was the Most Improved Player. The final award was for the Juvenile Players Player of the Year, sponsored by Karen Rea, and this was presented Shane Feane. The awards were presented by James V. O’Brien and Kieran O’Rourke. A presentation was made to Ray Moloney in appreciation of his support of the indoor hurling tournament over the past fifteen years. Presentations were also made to Kit O’Halloran and Mike Lyons who are retiring as treasurer and secretary of the juvenile club.
Thanks were expressed to the Charleville Park Hotel for their hospitality, to Brian O’Dwyer for providing the disco, to all those who sponsored the various awards and raffle prizes and to the organisers, particularly Gerard Sexton and Joan Quirke. Thanks also to the parents who made the effort to attend and support their children on their special night.

Ray Moloney, sponsor, presenting the Under 12 Indoor Hurling cup to winning captain, David O’Connell, with members of the winning and runner up teams


The Rockhill Bruree Defibrillator Group would like to thank all those who attended or made donations towards the Rockhill Bruree Defibrillator fundraiser quiz night. It was a great success and raised €1,650. An information meeting has been arranged for January 26th in Bruree National School. All are encouraged and welcome to attend.


Lucky dip winners in last week’s Bruree GAA/Rockhill Rovers lotto draw were €50 Betty Harrold, Ballyagran, €25 Mick Stanton, Brid Hannon, c/o Nora Power, €20 Margaret Noonan, c/o GVM Moloney’s Bar, Frank Quain, Creggane

No comments: