Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Bruree Notes 17/12/2010


The following are the times for the Christmas ceremonies this year:
Christmas Eve Vigil Mass in Rockhill at 8.00 pm
Christmas Day Bruree 11.30 am  
Sunday 26th December - Feast of the Holy Family - Bruree 11.30 am
Monday 27th December to Friday 31st December inclusive No Mass  
Saturday 1st January Rockhill 6.00 pm  
Sunday 2nd January Bruree 11.30 am
It is no longer permissible for anyone, including priests, to look at the list of inpatients in the Mid Western Hospital, Dooradoyle, as has been the practice previously. For Parish Priests this is a regrettable decision and will impact on the custom of having access to patients from our parish. Fr. McAuliffe will need to be notified if you wish him to visit a relative or parishioner and he can be contacted on 063-90515 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting  or in the sacristy after Mass.
Fr. Desmond McAuliffe sends Christmas Wishes and prayers to all.


Membership: Members are reminded that their annual subscription is now due and should be paid to Kit O’Halloran or Johnny Wall immediately. It is vital that all members have paid their subscriptions in full at the earliest possible date.
Winners: The winners in the final Bruree GAA Players Development Fund draw for 2010 were: €1,000 Vincent Kelly, Bruree €200 Joe McDermott, Garryfine €100 2ach Sheila O’Donnell,MonardTipperaryAine O’Brien, Raheen, Anthony O’Shea, Garryfine. Bruree GAA would like to thank everyone who supported this year’s draw, helping make it another successful fundraising effort. Thanks also go to everyone involved in organising the draw and especially all those who recruited members for the draw.

Juvenile GAA

AGM: The AGM of Bruree Juvenile GAA Club took place on Tuesday night in Bruree National School It was very satisfying to see such a great turnout at the meeting. Chairman, Mike Mullane, welcomed everybody and spoke of the good year the club had in 2010. The club had contested a lot of finals, had very successful indoor hurling tournaments, held a great summer camp and collected the Under 13 county championship and Under 14 league titles. He thanked everybody involved in any way with the club during the past year and specially thanked the retiring officers. The club had held a very successful presentation night aimed particularly at the children who enjoyed the attention they received on the night. In his comprehensive secretary’s report, Mike Lyons said the club had contested six finals, winning two, had held two indoor hurling tournaments and had drawn up a long term plan for the future of the club. He also thanked everyone who had assisted with the running of the club during the year. Treasurer, Kit O’Halloran, gave a detailed account of the income and expenditure for 2010.
The following officers were elected for the coming year Chairman Mike Mullane, Vice Chairman Gerard Sexton, Secretary James Feane, Assistant Secretary Jim O’Connell, Treasurer Joan Quirke, Registrar Brendan Hogan.
The club will field hurling and football teams at all age groups and parents and players will be informed in due course of the various team mentors.
Membership for 2011 will be €5 per child with a cap of €20 for any number of children from the one family. This is now due and can be paid to any of the club officers.

45 Drive

Winners of the 45 Drive last week with ten games were Fintan Stone and Mike O’Brien. Runners up with nine games were Eugene Grant and Joe Carey. The table prize was won by Mary Noonan and Martin Carroll. Raffle prizes were won by Katherine O’Regan, Josephine Lynch, Donie Hannon and Nora May Donworth. The 45 Drive continues in the Community Centre every Tuesday night, starting at 8.30 pm sharp.


We extend our sincere sympathy to the family, relatives and friends of David Riordan,Cregane, Kathleen O’Driscoll-Daly, Ballytigue Lower, and Catherine McNabb, Hospital, who died recently.


Lucky dip winners in last week’s Bruree GAA/Rockhill Rovers lotto draw were €50 Maurice O’Connor, Derawlin €25 Pat Bray, Athlacca, June O’Donovan, Charleville €20 Pat Fitzgerald, Ray Moloney, Mary Daly, Garrouse.
Lucky dip winners in the Christmas Bruree GAA/Rockhill Rovers lotto draw were Pat Dunne, Castletown (x2), Michelle Buckley, Charleville, Francis O’Shea, Bruree, Ned Devine, c/o Ray Moloney, Eileen McMahon, Bruree, L. and P. Horgan, Bruree, Sammy Joe Foley, Kilmallock, Aaron Deane, Bruree, Tom Cotter, Ballyagran, Stephen and Brian Sexton, Bruree, Christy Sheerin, Bruree.
The organisers would like to thank all those who supported the lotto during 2010. Thanks also to all the lotto promoters for their efforts on behalf of both clubs. The jackpot for the next draw will be €5,550.


I would like to take this opportunity to wish all readers of and contributors to these notes a happy, holy and peaceful Christmas and a prosperous New Year. I look forward to everyone’s co-operation in compiling these notes again for 2011.

No comments: