Friday, July 29, 2011

Bruree Notes 24/7/2011

Sportsfield News

Representatives of Rockhill/Bruree Sportsfield Development Committee will collect the outstanding survey forms over the next few days. If you have not received a survey or want to return a completed survey: Noel O’Halloran, Eamon O’Dea, John Harrold, Noel Brosnan, Elaine Horgan, Sean O’Connor, Gerard Murphy, Jamie Lyons, Jimmy Woulfe, Joe Carey, Bernie Sheehan, Rebecca Murphy, Mai McKiernan and Judy Tobin. Your input is very important to the project so we would appreciate if you would fill in the survey as completely as possible.
In due course, when the information on the survey has been collated, a public meeting will be held to display the results and the plans for the sportsfield.

Community Radio

Ballyhoura Community Radio is now broadcasting on the FM band to South Limerick and North Cork. The station carries a wide range of programming every Saturday and Sunday from 9.00 am to 9.00 pm. The presenters are all from the franchise area and the station is very much community focused. Tune in to BCR92.6FM and support your local station.

45 Drive

Winners of last week’s 45 Drive were Fintan Stone and Mike O’Brien with eight games.  Runners up with seven games were Eddie Ryan and Tommy Riordan and Mary Margaret Noonan and Ann Frawley. Raffle prizes went to John Moloney (x2), Mary Margaret Noonan and John Sheehan. The 45 Drive continues in the Community Centre every Tuesday night, starting at 8.30 pm sharp.

Internet News

News from Bruree is available online at


We extend our sincere sympathy to the family, relatives and friends of Con Ryan, Adare and formerly of Ballytigue, and Mary FarrellyKnockfenora, who died recently.

Juvenile GAA

Bruree U13 Hurling versus Granagh-Ballingarry in Bruree on Wednesday, 13th July
Our U13 Hurlers played Granagh-Ballingarry in the latest round of this competition in the local field. From the beginning it was evident that the few weeks without competitive hurling had taken its toll with our rustiness very evident. We struggled to get our first touch going and while we did start to dominate the game our sharpness wasn’t there. Gradually through the first half we came to grips with the game and good score taking from Sean Quirke and Tommy Cronnollywas a feature of the half. Some changes were made at half time and our subs all performed very well when given the opportunity. Cathal Barrington scored a fine goal off his left side and this, along with a well taken opportunist goal by Eoin O’ Driscoll, were some of the highlights of the second half. Jonathan Fitzpatrick had a fine game at corner back as did Jack Murphy whose close marking and tenaciousness ensured Bruree’s goal was rarely in danger.

Golf Society

The winners of the Bruree Golf Society Captain’s prize held at Charleville Golf Club were 1 Mark Cagney 2 Ger Prunty 3 Frank Finn 4 Roslyn Moloney Gross Front Nine Danny Deady Back Nine David Deady Best Past Captain Mike Moloney Best Beginner Mike Lyons Best Visitor Maisie Clifford Ladies Longest Drive Roslyn Moloney Mens Longest Drive Mike Potter Nearest To Pin Grainne Clifford Sweep Patrick Deady.


Lucky dip winners in last week’s Bruree GAA/Rockhill Rovers lotto draw were €50 Sean and Kevin O’Connor, €25 Michael Cotter, Geraldine Sheehan €20 Moloney’s Bar Lotto, June O’Donovan, Charleville, Geraldine Coll.

No comments: