Thursday, December 13, 2012

BRUREE NOTES 9/12/2012

Caoimhe Murphy, who travels to Calcutta with The Hope Foundation in 2013 pictured at her fundraising 45 Drive at The Crentral bar with herparents Rebecca and Ger, sister Lorna and brother Jack

Jimmy Feane, Chairman, Bruree Juvenile GAA, making a presentation to outgoing Chairman, Mike Mullane, at the club's awards night last weekend at Bulgaden Castle


Stepping Stones Community Playschool will be holding a Christmas raffle in aid of their outdoor play area. The draw will take place on Friday, December 21st, at the playschool. Prizes include €100 cash, hampers, vouchers and much more. You are asked the people to be as generous as possible and support this cause. Contact Brenda on 0871649755 for further information/queries.


A limited number of Bruree themed Christmas cards are available at the De Valera Museum and Bruree Heritage Centre at just €1 each. The centre is open Monday to Friday from 9.00 to 5.00 pm.


A public meeting will be held at Bruree National School on tonight, Thursday, December 13th, at 8.00 pm. The purpose of the meeting is to set up a parish committee which will look after the running and refurbishment of the community centre, tidy towns activities etc. Anyone interested in becoming involved in any way is asked to come along.


Juvenile GAA Awards Night: The Annual Juvenile awards night was held at Bulgaden Castle on Sunday night. The medals won during the year were presented as were the trophies for the indoor hurling tournament. The club awards were also presented and the recipients were as follows
Under 8 Improved Player Shannon Carey/Shane Hogan
Under 10 Improved Player Emma Kerins
Under 10 Player of the Year Frankie Barrington
Under 12 Improved Player Fionnbarr Fitzpatrick
Under 12 Player of the Year Sam Cronnolly
Under 13 Improved Player Cathal Barrington
Under 13 Player of the Year Jimmy Leslie Madigan
Under 14 Improved Player Edward Moore
Under 14 Player of the Year Brian Sexton
Under 16 Improved Player Eoin O’Connell
Under 16 Player of the Year Ronan O’Halloran
Presentations were made to Kayleigh Thompson and Kiara McCarthy who played their last underage game with the club during the year. A presentation was made to Mike Mullane in appreciation of his three years as chairman of the club. Thanks was expressed to everyone who had helped make the night such a success.


Players Development Fund: The first Players Development Fund draw was held at The Hotel and the following were the winners:
€500 Rosemary Moore, Kilmallock Road, Bruree, Seller Shane Mullane €200 Frankie and Joan Finn, Garrouse, Seller Frankie Finn €100 Breda Sheehan, c/o Ger Mullane, Seller Ger Mullane €100 Sean Gilbert Ballyagran, Seller Sean Deady €100 Aine O’Brien, Raheen, Seller Sean Deane. The second draw takes place next Monday night.


These are the results for Week 4 of the Silver Circle Draw: 1st Prize: Aine Frawley, Seller: Sean Frawley, 2nd Prize: Betty, Denis and Susan Crean, 3rd Prize: Dora Lynch, Ballyagran, 4th Prize: Chloe McGrath, 5th Prize: Margaret Mooney.


We extend our sincere sympathy to the family, relatives and friends of Liam Fitzgerald, Dromin, Noel Battles, Kildimo, Joe Scanlon, Kingsland, and Michael Broderick, Churchtown, who died recently.

No comments: